Young Adult Dystopian by J. Rodes

Dystopian: What is that? Katie over at Fiction Aficionado has a great post for that question! Check it out here. I also had the opportunity to share why I love this genre here.

A very different venture for me, but if you’ve read my blog posts about why I stepped this direction, you get it. 🙂

The Uncloaked Trilogy will release over the course of 2017.  I hope you brave the ups and downs of Braxton Luther and Eliza Knight’s world. And maybe, just maybe, their journey might influence your own.

Want to stay up-to-date on news, releases, sales, and other happenings? Sign up for the newsletter here.

Book One


No one stirred in the area—people stayed in their little hovels. Hiding, most likely. From the cold, the helplessness. Maybe from the Party. Staying out of sight, like cockroaches.

I am not a cockroach.


ResistanceIn the shadows of an economic crisis, a new power is rising. The promises of the Party are many and attractive, but lurking beneath the shiny new order is something dark and overpowering…

Sixteen-year-old Braxton Luther is determined to keep a grip on the dreams he has for his life. Success. Happiness. Love. When he’s challenged to stand in defiance of a Party that will demand his total allegiance, he’s not sure resistance will pay off. Actually, he’s pretty sure defiance will cost him everything.

Eliza Knight, however, doesn’t bow. Not if it means trading her soul for comfort. Which is a problem, because she’s the girl he can’t live without, and protecting her becomes his number one priority.

Then the killings begin, and the threat to Eliza becomes darker than Braxton had ever imagined. Reality sinks in.

Defiance is no longer optional.

“This book had me riveted from its opening lines, and hasn’t let go of me yet.” -Katie Donovan, Fiction Aficionado

“…magnificent and thought provoking…” -Singing Librarian Books

 “…a really fantastic dystopia, one of the best I’ve ever read.” -Ashley Sapp, Rustic Reading Gal

Book Two


They trained us well. Power punctuated our every move, driving fear into the intended target. Who would stand against them?


Braxton Luther, the sellout.

Now a part of the Den, he’s determined to make good on Eliza Knight’s faith in him—to be more than what he’d settled for when the Party had taken over. But his goal is dangerous, and not just for him. As he searches for a way to protect the silent, invisible victims of the new government, Braxton’s mission—which includes finding a way to rescue Eliza from the Reformation Camp—becomes even more complicated. Hannah Knight, Eliza’s sister, is simply too much like him.

Tired of standing in her perfect sister’s shadow, Hannah determines to find her own place in the world. If that place is with the Pride—the girls’ home and training center provided by the Party—so be it. When she leaves the hopelessness of the cellar, that’s all she’s aiming for. But Quinn Sanger, the handsome son of a powerful political leader, finds her at the creek, and her life takes an unexpected and optimistic turn.

Braxton’s convinced Hannah’s in trouble. Hannah’s convinced Braxton, and all the Uncloaked, are insane. But when they peek behind the real veil the Party maintains, the truth is beyond what either had feared or hoped.

If everyone knew, it could change everything. They redefine their mission. It’s time to tear the veil.

“This series is edge-of-your-seat dystopian at its best! Can’t wait for the next book!” –Amazon bestselling author Sarah Monzon

“I need book three – NOW!!” –Tassaboo, Goodreads review

Book Three


You were not saved for this…


They tore the veil. Now the country is ripping apart. The captive Uncloaked have been freed, and the people now know the dark truth. A rebellion against the Party has begun. But a question lingers among those who are safely hidden in the Refuge—what will happen to their broken nation? Secrets and shame, resentment and hatred shake the divided country.

In the turbulence of the fallout, Braxton Luther finds himself in a new kind of battle. Eliza Knight is back, but her heart is not the same. They will be put through the ultimate test as they struggle with the fact that Eliza has the chance to save many, but only if she chooses to do so. Seeing her wrestle with doing what is right only adds to Braxton’s regrets, and when he finally tells her the truth about her capture, they discover how painful betrayal can be.

Ultimately, she gets to choose. They all do. Every survivor who somehow managed to outlive the cruelty of the Party must choose——what will they do with what they believe?

Braxton’s and Eliza’s answers could change the fate of the shattering nation.

“…heart wrenching and powerful all at once.” –Toni Shiloh, Author

Are you an audiobook listener?

The complete trilogy is available on audio through Audible, Amazon, and iTunes!  With a Kindle purchase on Amazon, the audio price is significantly lower, so don’t forget to add in audio!